Nominate a local NHS Health and Care Hero

Last week saw the launch of the 2019 NHS Parliamentary Awards. 

The awards were created to recognise and celebrate NHS staff, carers and volunteers who, through their hard work, innovative ideas and unwavering efforts, go above and beyond the call of duty to put patients first. 

The NHS is rightly the nation’s most loved institution and there’s no doubt its staff make it what it is today, which is why it is only right that we thank the extraordinary health and care heroes who are there to guide, support and care for us, day in, day out.

I regularly see and hear examples of fantastic care that make a genuine difference and touch the lives of people in Eddisbury.  I would urge all of you who have seen or received outstanding care first hand to nominate the person who you think deserves national recognition.

There are ten award categories:  

  • The Excellence in Healthcare Award: an individual or team which is going above and beyond to improve outcomes and experience for patients living with and beyond cancer.
  • The Excellence in Mental Health Care Award: an individual or team which has developed new and effective services to help people living with mental health problems in the community.
  • The Excellence in Urgent and Emergency Care Award: an individual or team which has made improvements to how the NHS treats people in life or death situations.
  • The Excellence in Primary Care Award: a primary care practitioner e.g doctors, dentists and pharmacists or a team which is working with patients to help them stay healthy in their own homes.
  • The Future NHS Award: an individual or team that has successfully trialled and embedded innovative change(s) to empower and improve care for patients.
  • The Health Equalities Award: an individual or organisation that helps the NHS to do its bit by bringing together different groups and organisations to reduce health inequalities and prevent ill health in their community.
  • The Care and Compassion Award: any nurse, midwife or care staff member of any discipline and in any setting who has used their skills to ensure that patients experience care and compassion.
  • The Volunteer of the Year: to celebrate volunteers who help shape and deliver better services in their area.
  • The Wellbeing at Work Award: to the person or team that has successfully trialled and embedded change(s) that have made the NHS a better place to work.
  • The Lifetime Achievement Award: for an individual who has worked within a health or care setting for 40 years or more who has left a lasting legacy.

To nominate an individual, please send:

  • their name;
  • role;
  • organisation;
  • a short paragraph (no longer than 250 words) explaining why they deserve to be awarded a NHS Parliamentary Award; and
  • the award category you wish to nominate the individual for

to by Friday, 19 April 2019.   Please also ensure to include your name, telephone number and e-mail address.